Saudi reinstated in Abu Dhabi 'green list'; no more quarantine for travellers

Flyers from Kazakhstan, Morocco exempt from quarantine as well

Image use for illustrative purpose. People travelling through Abu Dhabi airport.

Image use for illustrative purpose. People travelling through Abu Dhabi airport.

Getty Images

Abu Dhabi has expanded its list of “green” countries from which travellers can fly into the UAE capital without undergoing quarantine upon arrival.

Saudi Arabia has been reinstated into the “green” category, which means flyers from the Gulf region will only be required to take a PCR test at the airport.

Also added into the quarantine-free list are Kazakhstan and Morocco. So far, there are now 13 countries that are exempt from quarantine requirements, up from 10 in February 23.

The “green list” has been prepared by the Department of Culture and Tourism (DCT). It is updated regularly based on international development.

“Passengers arriving from these destinations will be exempt from mandatory quarantine measures after landing in Abu Dhabi and will only be required to undergo PCR testing upon arrival,” the DCT Abu Dhabi said.

To be included in the list, countries must pass the strict criteria of health and safety, to ensure the well-being of UAE residents.

Here is the complete “green list” as of March 8, 2021:

  • Australia
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • China
  • Greenland
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • Kazakhstan
  • Mauritius
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore

(Writing by Cleofe Maceda; editing by Seban Scaria)

Disclaimer: This article is provided for informational purposes only. The content does not provide tax, legal or investment advice or opinion regarding the suitability, value or profitability of any particular security, portfolio or investment strategy. Read our full disclaimer policy here.

© ZAWYA 2021

More From Health