AmCham Abu Dhabi Announces Newly Elected 2017-18 Board of Directors

Board Officers:

08 June 2017

Abu Dhabi, U.A.E. - AmCham Abu Dhabi held its 2017 Annual General Meeting at the Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi on June 7, where the members of the 2017-18 Board of Directors were elected. On July 1, 2017 the following individuals will assume roles as Board Officers and Members-at-Large for a one year term that will expire June 30, 2018.

Board Officers:

  • Chairman: Sharief Fahmy, Middle East General Enterprises
  • Vice Chairman: Christopher J. Davis, Raytheon International Inc., U.A.E.
  • Treasurer: Paul O'Brien, Abu Dhabi Investment Authority
  • Secretary: John P. McGowan Jr., JPM Legal Advisors Worldwide Ltd.
  • Members-at-Large (alphabetical order):

    • Manaf Afyouni, Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi
    • Khuloud Al Nuwais, Emirates Foundation
    • Nasser Al Osaiba, Global Advocacy and Legal Counsel
    • Peter Christensen, New York University Abu Dhabi
    • Rula Dajani, AMIDEAST
    • Brian Lott, Mubadala Investment Company
    • Peter Rafferty, Abu Dhabi Investment Authority
    • Elias Sayah, Sayah Engineering MENA
    • Maurice Ross Wingo II, Dolphin, Occidental Petroleum
    • Donald M. Wix, Jr., Lockheed Martin Global Inc.
    • Dareen M. Zoughbi, Nadereen Consultancy

    The Annual General Meeting was kicked off with opening remarks by Executive Director Theresa F. Weber. Chairman Sharief Fahmy provided the Call to Order and an overview of AmCham Abu Dhabi. Following his remarks, Board Committee Chairs reported on their accomplishments over the last 12 months. The Finance report was provided by Peter Rafferty, Programs reported by Elias Sayah, Women in Business by Dareen M. Zoughbi, Arts & Culture by Sana Bagersh, Roundtables by Timothy J. Richards, U.S. – U.A.E. Public Affairs by Sharief Fahmy, Legal Affairs by John P. McGowan Jr. and Membership by Wesley Covell. In addition, the 2017 Membership Directory was unveiled.

    Wesley Covell, on behalf of the 2016-17 Board of Directors, acknowledged AmCham Abu Dhabi's Falcon Club and Platinum Members, for their significant contributions to AmCham Abu Dhabi. In addition, Sana Bagersh, Wesley Covell, Peter Rafferty and Timothy J. Richards were given plaques to recognize their outstanding commitment to AmCham Abu Dhabi. The Board of Directors expressed its appreciation to Dr. Qaiser Anis and the Nominating Committee, the 2017-18 Board nominees, and all the Members of AmCham Abu Dhabi who participated in the 2017-18 Board elections and attended the Annual General Meeting.

    For press inquiries contact: Karim Damerje, Communications Coordinator, at +971 2 631 3604 or

    About AmCham Abu Dhabi:
    AmCham Abu Dhabi (the trademark of the American Business Group of Abu Dhabi) is a member of the global network of American Chambers of Commerce. Active since 1986, the AmCham Abu Dhabi mission has been to promote commerce, investment and goodwill between the United States of America, the membership, the Emirate of Abu Dhabi and the United Arab Emirates. AmCham Abu Dhabi is an independent, not-for-profit association comprised of Fortune 500 corporations, small and medium sized companies and prominent business leaders and entrepreneurs. AmCham Abu Dhabi provides a uniquely situated platform through which executives pursue and discuss issues impacting business operations between the U.S. and U.A.E. Substantive government advocacy programs, educational and networking programs and customized business service are just a few of the many benefits AmCham Abu Dhabi provides its members. Through the support of its members, AmCham Abu Dhabi has become the recognized voice of U.S. business in Abu Dhabi, the capital city of the United Arab Emirates. For more information, visit:

    © Press Release 2017

    More From Press Releases